Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Banana Bread

Sometimes when I wake up in the morning I feel like a zombie, but instead of walking around saying “braaaaains,” I’m like “coooooffeeeeeee!”  I’m sure you know exactly what I mean!  I don’t know about you, but sometimes my morning cup of coffee just begs to be paired with something sweet.  This morning with my (strong) coffee I’m enjoying a slice of Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Banana Bread that Mini Thor helped me make last night.  This tasty treat is so easy a two year old can make it, I mean literally!

What You’ll Need

  • Gluten-Free Chocolate Cake Mix (I used Cherrybrook Kitchen Gluten Free Dreams)
  • Three over ripe bananas
  • 1/2 Cup of applesauce (or one of those little snack cups of apples sauce)
  • 1/2 Cup of chocolate chips (or more if you want)

Preheat your oven to 350 and let the banana smashing begin!

Mini Thor used a whisk to smash up the bananas!  Then we added in the applesauce and stirred it in to the mashed up banana mush.

Next, Mini Thor mixed in the cake mix (just the mix don’t add anything listed on the box) and some chocolate chips!

Once its all mixed up put it in a greased loaf pan and pop that sucker in the oven!

It’ll take about 45 minutes to bake, or more depending on the cake mix you use and your oven.

After your chocolaty bread is done baking it should look something like this…

Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Banana Bread

Let it cool and then enjoy!  An 1/8 of the loaf is about 300 calories.  Mini Thor and I hope you will try out this easy recipe, let us know what you think.

Keeping on smiling and adventuring,

-Kate

 

P.S.  You can make this banana bread with any cake mix, it just won’t be gluten-free (but it will still be easy and tasty)

Leave a Reply

